6.8 SPC Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking at getting two feeders for deer to put on a property in Kansas. Wanted to hear which ones you like or don't like and why. Plan to put one up for the 6.8 to harvest some deer and the other in a spot that will be good for the bow.

TK

·
Registered
15 Posts
I've been using Moultree for about 20 years. Their newer models are really nice. I use the 55 gallon programmable battery powered. I had one that lasted about 14 years till the hogs figured out how to collapse a leg and destroyed them all. After I replaced all 4 with the newer models and use t-post hammered into the ground at the same angle as the legs and use automotive hose clamps(3) per leg. They can't flip em now. I do recommend putting silicon around the bolt holes that hold the leg supports to the barrel to keep water out as it will ruin the corn. I also put a larger optional lid on to help keep water out as I live in Louisiana and it rains a lot. The battery life is super great on the latest models. In the off season I program it to throw corn for 4 seconds 2 times daily and 6-8 seconds in the morning right before sunrise and 4 seconds around 2 pm unless I have corn on the ground from the morning throw. Just my opinion and good luck.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
138 Posts
Just make sure you go with a 55 Gallon or larger if you can find it.

do not get the 5 gallon bucket feeder. The least amount of time you spend at the site the better. You don't want to be going every week to fill it up.

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Just make sure you go with a 55 Gallon or larger if you can find it.

do not get the 5 gallon bucket feeder. The least amount of time you spend at the site the better. You don't want to be going every week to fill it up.
Are yours metal? The ones I'm finding are the plastic 30gal ones by Moultrie.

TK

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·