6.8 SPC Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been reloading various rifle and pistol cartridges for over 40 years. Lots of experience and a lot of reloading equipment on hand. All I need are dies. For my bolt action rifles I've always used the competition grade dies; those with a sliding sleeve for bullet seating. Not sure I need that kind of precision for hunting wild boar at 200 yds and closer. What does the 68 community recommend?

·
Registered
8,933 Posts
I personally use the Hornady with the "sliding sleeve" just because. They come standard in the Hornady line as far as I know as I have them in .223/5.56 and 6.8.

·
Registered
561 Posts
I've been loading the same amount of time as you lol I've got four different brands of dies in my cabinet and I am using Lee dies with no problems for the 6.8.

·
Registered
18 Posts
I have RCBS small base and the Hornady dies, but the Hornady gets used the most often. I bought the RCBS to use on my Dillon 550, but with most loads having the powder near the case mouth it makes progressive press reloading more difficult.

·
Registered
690 Posts
dies

i have lee and hornady dies for my 6.8. Both work very well but lately i've used the Hornady. i like the features it has such as the sliding sleeve on the seating die.

·
Super Moderator
12,229 Posts
I like the Hornady seating die with the sleeve as well but I have had zero problems with Lee, RCBS, Forster or Redding Type S dies. It all depends on what you like the best.

·
Registered
4,583 Posts