6.8 SPC Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the 6.8 arena and am looking for a good supply (25 or so) mags for the 6.8. I have read the stickies that state they are a few bucks more than the 223 mags. Please share where you are getting them. I can only find them at 100% or 150% more than the 223 mags. I might be comparing apples to oranges as I priced PRI 6.8 mags and AR Stoner 223 mags.

·
Registered
6,732 Posts
PRI are the most expensive--- I use as mags and never had an issue

·
Registered
2,290 Posts
ASC or Pri. CPD is hit-or miss for me, but as they break-in they're gtg!

15 rounds is plenty for me and not heavy.

·
Banned
2,342 Posts
i like the D&H PSA runs for 9.99 - never failed me yet, tweaked the lips just last week. they're heavier gauge steel i think

·
Registered
252 Posts
Thanx guys. Looks like 44mag.com has the best prices and inventory.
44mag.com almost always (at least in recent experience) has ASC 6.8 mags in stock and at reasonable prices. The also offer a discount per mag if you order enough ASC mags, and you can mix-and-match caliber and size. It works out nice if you want to buy a bunch of 6.8 mags in various sizes.

However, I also would mention my recent negative experience with 44mag. I purchased an assortment of 6.8 mags earlier this year in anticipation of completing my 6.8 build. Eventually the rifle build was finished, function checked and ready for the range. Up until this point I was using one mag. I unpackaged the rest of my mags, loaded them, and used them all during an extended range session.

I found one 10 round mag that seemed out of spec, requiring a serious effort to load, failing to drop free and needing to be drug out of the magwell. Scoring at several points on the mag exterior led me to believe it was out of spec. I contacted 44mag about it, and their reply was "it's past 30 days on your purchase, sorry, nothing we will do.".