6.8 SPC Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thinking about a Silencer down the road since Ohio now lets you use them to hunt. I also would like an SBR as well. With all the new laws should I go ahead and setup a trust knowing that down the road I plan to get a couple NFA items? Is having the trust done before the deadline not enough to prevent me from having to succumb to the new 24 month law? Do i need to have the appropriate ATF Forms also filed and handled before the deadline? Please excuse the ignorance as I am new to this.

With the new laws is there now a better option than a trust?

Thanks

·
Registered
80 Posts
setting up a trust now is not enough to avoid the new laws. your money needs to be in the govts hands before whatever date it was they set. June something. this is was spurred me to act sooner than later.

i guess i could expand. From what i've seen a trust is still the best method even after the new law. but in all honesty, if i were you I'd get your trust today and when it comes in i would head straight to shop and buy your suppressor. You can do SBR forms online with any already owned ar.

·
Super Moderator
5,753 Posts
The "new laws" really don't affect the purpose of a Trust.
If you want your NFA items eligible for use by family members or good friends then create a trust.

It will also make the transition/transfer of the items simple if something happens to you, because you have it laid out in the trust.

Sent from a final firing position, the crosshairs are on you!

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
setting up a trust now is not enough to avoid the new laws. your money needs to be in the govts hands before whatever date it was they set. June something. this is was spurred me to act sooner than later.