6.8 SPC Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I'm pretty new at reloading . . . . I went back and measured the case lengths on newly reloaded rounds. I found they ranged from 1.683 to 1.688 and about 7 of them came in at 1.690. My manuals say the max length is 1.686

Are my reloadings safe? In case you are wondering, these reloads are from once fired brass. I measured factory rounds and many of them came in around 1.685-1.687. Do I need to trash the 1.688s? Thanks for your help

·
Registered
331 Posts
So I'm pretty new at reloading . . . . I went back and measured the case lengths on newly reloaded rounds. I found they ranged from 1.683 to 1.688 and about 7 of them came in at 1.690. My manuals say the max length is 1.686

Are my reloadings safe? In case you are wondering, these reloads are from once fired brass. I measured factory rounds and many of them came in around 1.685-1.687. Do I need to trash the 1.688s? Thanks for your help
So... these are fired rounds, right? Trash, no. Resize and then trim. 1.686 max, 1.676 min.

·
Registered
5,400 Posts

·
Registered
5,400 Posts
No these are not fired rounds. The are reloads that I measured the brass on.
Even new brass you still resize and trim if needed.

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Even new brass you still resize and trim if needed.
Okay I guess I'm not being clear. I bought factory ammo. Fired them. Reloaded the brass without trimming or measuring. After the reloading I measured the brass. the brass is ranging from 1.681 to 1.688. Do I need to pull the bullets from the 1.688s and trim them?

·
Registered
4,263 Posts
After the reloading I measured the brass. the brass is ranging from 1.681 to 1.688. Do I need to pull the bullets from the 1.688s and trim them?