6.8 SPC Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Super Moderator
12,665 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone have any idea what this will mean? Cannot really find anything much about it or see where much of anything has changed. Sounds like hot air to me.

·
Registered
1,148 Posts
Anyone have any idea what this will mean? Cannot really find anything much about it or see where much of anything has changed. Sounds like hot air to me.
Mostly nothing. It will make it harder for those under 21. You will probably see more red flag laws pop up too, since they are offering states money for it.

·
Super Moderator
12,665 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
But as a dealer, I am sitting here now not knowing whether I can sell an AR to someone under 21. I could before this new law but now I don't know. Cannot find any actual language that explains any of it.

·
Registered
1,071 Posts
The Bill / Law: Text - S.2938 - 117th Congress (2021-2022): Bipartisan Safer Communities Act

Disclaimer: I'm not a lawyer. But after a quick scan of the bill, it looks like it adds text to provide up to 10 additional days for a background check for those under 21 so additional data sources can be reviewed / consulted. So, it looks like all the dealer has to do is wait until the background check clears, which means a person under 21 may have to wait longer.

·
Registered
8,997 Posts
There are more restrictions but the main parts are that they pulled the normal knee jerk emotional reaction and can say they did something. Depending on the state the Sheriffs will just refuse to comply with the illegal Red Flag laws even with the communists running the state.

Reactions: Ratdog68

·
Registered
762 Posts
I hope someone in a blue state gets red flagged and sues over it. This needs to go to the SCOTUS for review. Can’t just deny someone rights with no due process. It’s a slippery slope and the 1A is next in line.

·
Super Moderator
12,665 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 · (Edited)