6.8 SPC Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thanks for the opportunity to join this forum that has been recommended by several others at the LWRCI Forum.

I'm 58, an airline pilot by trade. I was severely injured on the job in 1996, injuries that went untreated for the most part until I had several discs removed from my back and the lower back fused, some 5 yerars later. So with all my "free" time, I thought that I'd get back up to speed on shooting. (If the name Whaledriver hasn't given away what aircraft I was flying before professional life ended, I'll help: I flew the 747. It is my favorite airplane to fly except that you had to be out of gas in order to land.)

I'm former Air Force, but not as a pilot: I was trained in firearms -- M16 and the 1911 -- and mistakenly felt that I had no need to keep current since my life no longer depended upon my marksmanship. I gave up all shooting in 1973 and didn't see the errors of my ways until Ronald Reagan was elected and I decided it was time to grow up, discovering that I was a closet-conservative.

I've had a great deal to learn as my M16 was equipped with nothing more than simple iron sights. I never used a scope before and mil dots still have me a little confused. Well, more than a little. Maybe a lot. Scandalous, isn't it?

A friend of mine handed me a magazine a few years ago that extolled the virtues of 6.8 SPC. Anygh that uthing that gives knock-down performance without too much weight in weapons and rounds carried isn't half bad in my book. I've built 2 custom 20" barreled 6.8 rifles andget MOA to sub-MOA groups at 100 and 200 yards; I have a third rufke in the process if being built utilizing an LWRCI upper for the M6A2 DMR weapon.