6.8 SPC Forums banner
1 - 20 of 110 Posts

· Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm a newbie when it comes to reloading, looking for some direction. I have a box of reloads made for my 6.8 but have yet to make it to the 100yd range to shoot the ladders so my reloading experience has been with 9mm and 45ACP. Given the short range expected out of the 300blk I've made the indoor 25yd range work, zeroing in at 20yds which, according to the charts, keeps me within 4" up to 175yds with the factory loaded 125gr MKZ. I'm shooting an AR Pistol with an 8.3" Ballistic Advantage Hanson barrel with the pinned gas block and an Eotech RDS. I also have a suppressor.

I realize the 300 BLK is not what a lot of folks chalk it up to be. Its anemic as Xman puts it. I really like the idea of the flexibility b/w supersonic and subsonic with the switch of a mag, and the fun factor of the subsonics with the suppressor. Supersonic will use the suppressor as well. I'm also able to participate in whitetail hunting in Missouri during the "Alternative Methods" period with this caliber and the AR pistol. I intend to use the 125gr MKZ if this pans out.

I shot a few strings of reloads recently out of this pistol, subs and supers. Suffering from analysis paralysis currently. The ladders I shot provided good info but the accuracy component of the process was not captured. All rounds were within 6", but only at 20yds. The process rendered an understanding of where I need to be from a charge perspective, but I don't know how wrapped around the axle I need to get from the accuracy standpoint. Keep in mind this is an AR pistol, so I'm not shouldering it, and using an Eotech RDS which can't provide the same accuracy as my Vortex Viper on my 6.8SPC. I'm sure there are plenty of more accurate shooters than myself as well. I do OK, I just don't spend a lot of time behind the trigger.