6.8 SPC Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
525 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any military college or academy people in here?
The reason for my asking is: my daughter is on the national wait list for West Point. There is already a student that was recruited for athletics that has accepted an appointment. They normally don't take more than one from the same district.
So here chances of getting in this year are slim. She is planning on attending The Citadel if she doesn't receive an appointment and reapplying when it opens again. Just looking for any advice for her.

Tia

·
Registered
498 Posts
I was on the NY waitlist for class of 1999 for West Point. I called admissions weekly (sometimes daily) and befriended a few of the people there and won them over on the alternate list. Don’t give up!!! Stand out, be persistent, show them you want that last seat!

I graduated middle of the class and served 8 years active from 1999-2007. Best experiences of my life.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
4,521 Posts
Good advice, Hurricane. Don't give up. I never heard of only 1 per district but that was 50 years ago when I was selected. My son went ROTC which was a very good experience for him. Explore all options.

It used to be if you joined a high school cadet program then got accepted, your time at the academy counted towards pay and retirement, eg. You graduated as an O-1 with 4 years while everyone else was an O-1 with 0 years. I don't know if that option is still available.

All the best. Hope she gets to serve.

Reactions: Guts

·
Premium Member
525 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Good advice, Hurricane. Don't give up. I never heard of only 1 per district but that was 50 years ago when I was selected. My son went ROTC which was a very good experience for him. Explore all options.