6.8 SPC Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I built a 6.8 rifle using an ARP barrel & bolt. As recommended I used Mega Arms upper & lower reciever.

I have had nothing but problems with the build. Mainly jamming and double feeds. The gun would run with a wet bolt for few rounds. I followed all the recommendations on this site (Thx 2 all). I could not get it to run.

This is not my first build & I make no claims that I'm an expert. Just a hobbyist.

Due to circumstances the gun was shelved for over a year. After tearing it down over winter I went to the range. Same problems.

Fortunately not to far away is a gunsmith that was a Marine armourer. The smith found a bad spring in the bolt on first test fire. This was replaced and the gun was test fired again. Same problem.

We both missed the fact that the bolt was left handed.

Frankly I'm a little disappointed ARP sent the wrong bolt. I order the combo together as they headspace them when you do.

I'm way past warranty and now have another $140 in this in parts & labor.

If you are having problems include a careful examination of your bolt. Lesson learned.

The good news is the barrel will shoot a .75" group and may be capable of better.

·
Premium Member
301 Posts
A left handed bolt ejects from the left side of the firearm. Ejector and extractor locations are opposite a right handed bolt. Rotation in the bolt carrier is opposite as well.

·
Registered
13,795 Posts
I built a 6.8 rifle using an ARP barrel & bolt. As recommended I used Mega Arms upper & lower reciever.

I have had nothing but problems with the build. Mainly jamming and double feeds. The gun would run with a wet bolt for few rounds. I followed all the recommendations on this site (Thx 2 all). I could not get it to run.

This is not my first build & I make no claims that I'm an expert. Just a hobbyist.