6.8 SPC Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I am a peace officer in the state of California. I have never purchased parts to make my own firearm, I have always purchased complete firearms. I am very interested in purchasing complete parts to make my very own short barrel AR-9. Would someone here be interested in helping me step by step on what exactly to purchase? If anyone here has done it and could give me web sites and actual parts they recommend I purchase? Also from what I understand if I go this route instead of buying a complete AR-9 I save a buck, how true is this?

Thank you in advance, I look forward to hearing from someone.

·
Registered
260 Posts
Welcome to the forum! I just sold a bunch of AR9 stuff on the EE section! :)

Building vs buying doesn't necessarily save you money; however it can if you ever end to changing stuff out. When you build it you can get exactly what you want the first time. Unlike DI AR15s they do not require a gas system so you don't have to be concerned on reliability based off gas port alignment and other stuff. I've built a couple and this is what I've realized(completely my opinion and there are others here smarter than me that may disagree).

1. You can use any upper but they do make uppers with smaller ejection ports but its purely looks vs function.

2. Buy a barrel that has some good feedback. Difference in it and a rifle barrel is feeding reliability vs accuracy. I personally have ballistic Advantage, bear creek, and Macon Armory. All have worked and never jamed that I know of.

3. Bolt carrier groups are not a huge concern because it's a solid mass vs a rotating bolt. So don't over spend, just get a plain Jane nitride one. Just make sure you get one that's for the type of mags your gonna use. I think most now days work on both glock/colt but some used to only be cut for colt mags.