6.8 SPC Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was not very impressed with my build.
I'm using an ARP 16" 6.8 scout profile barrel, ARP Super Bolt, ADM mount with Bushnell Elite 4200 2.5-10, Geisselle SSA trigger, Adams Arms midlength lite kit.
I shot SSA 90 gr PPT bonded and 115 gr OTM loads.
I zeroed right away at 25 yards and moved out to 100 yards. My best groups with both loads were 2-3".
Thinking it was the YHM ULT suppressor, I pulled it off and other than a POI change, the group size did not change.
I had my buddy shoot and he couldn't get any better.
We double checked the optic and it was tight.
Just wondering if these two loads, or SSA in general are not an accurate load?
I am set up to hand load, but I don't have the time with a 3 year old running around.

·
Registered
457 Posts
I have no experience with those loads. My only offering is that I too use an ADM mount and I have seen on several occasions people (myself included) getting bad groupings while using that mount and ultimately it was traced back to the ADM mount not being secured tight enough on the rail. The ADM instructions state that the mount doesn't need to be too tight...etc. In my experience that is NOT the case...the mount needs to be more tight than what the instructions indicate. I'm not saying that is your issue of course...and you did state that the optic was tight...just wanted to offer this as I have seen it several times so far. I'm also not ripping the ADM mount...I love it and use a few on multiple guns...I just make sure it is on the rail very very snug.

·
Registered
374 Posts
i have some older ssa 110 prohunters that only get 2-3 inch groups. I have to reload and found a sweet spot with h322 that brought it down under 1 moa.

·
Registered
1,484 Posts