6.8 SPC Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been reloading since 1986 and never had an issue with loads not chambering until I started loading the 6.8SPC. The issue has been tracked down to my Hornady sizing die. I always full length size cartridges and you can't do that with the Hornady die. It's creating a raised ring 0.05" from the base of the case. The base should be about 0.417" in diameter. With the Hornady die and the ring, it's around 0.425 - 0.435" causing the case to not fit all the way in the chamber. These cases are near impossible to extract too. Surprised my charging handle has not broken yet. Need full strength to exact these bad cases.

The solution is to not full length size the case. I don't like this method though as it takes time to figure out the gap/space needed between the die and shell plate. I found a better solution and that was to buy the small base RCBS dies. These work fine sizing all the way down to the sheel plate. Never heard of small base dies until I started researching this issue. Must be a problem with 6.8SPC? The small base dies are a few thousandths smaller in diameter at the shoulder and base. My barrel is an AR Performance spec barrel, so the chamber is a bit tighter I believe.

Cylinder Tin Nickel Auto part Metal

· Registered
72 Posts
I use Hornady "custom grade" die and it (my unit) is good to go. I had also bought an RCBS standard (not small base) sizer die to compare it with. My verdict with my two dies: hornady doesn't size the neck down very small at all, leaving less work for expander ball and therefore less working of the brass; the sized body dimensions were nearly identical to those sized with RCBS (again, not their small base die); the case body to neck concentricity was demonstrably better, by 1-3 thousands iirc.
I think your die is likely defective.