6.8 SPC Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,942 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got a deal on pulled 6.8 brass.........but it is staked primers. Since I have no experience with this type of brass, could someone tell me if the staked primers are hard to remove and after a primer pocket swage application will the brass hold up like regular unstaked brass?

·
Registered
276 Posts
Buy a pocket swager by RCBS, after you pop the primer, swage the hole, gtg

·
Registered
3,474 Posts
Once fired military brass with crimped primers should come off with the decapper/sizer wo any problems.
One can swag the primer pockets or simply cut them with a chamfering. RCBS has a swagger tool but they also sell a simple chamfering/crimp cutter that
you can install in a drill or the power station.

Initially I simply run the cutters so I don't have to put unnecessary tension at the web of the case. In some occasions I use the swagging tool but this
tool works by putting substantial force on the web of the brass and molding the brass. This is something that I leave for softer brass brands
and batches.

Crimp remover/cutter.

·
Banned
1,955 Posts
I got a deal on pulled 6.8 brass.........but it is staked primers. Since I have no experience with this type of brass, could someone tell me if the staked primers are hard to remove and after a primer pocket swage application will the brass hold up like regular unstaked brass?
They are not hard to remove and can generally be reamed out with a simple neck chamfer tool. Far easier to deal with than crimped primers and require far less reaming.

·
Registered
2,760 Posts
They are not hard to remove and can generally be reamed out with a simple neck chamfer tool. Far easier to deal with than crimped primers and require far less reaming.