6.8 SPC Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just recently picked up a box of 100 Hornady (.277) 130G INTERLOCK SP

Is there a way to load these to fit an AR platform 6.8? The Hornady reloading book shows the C.O.L. for this load to be 2.355

The book also notes that these will not fit into AR style magazines.

I have NOT loaded any of these and was hoping to get some advice before I even attempt it. I have read that compressing the load can cause instability and that is something I do not want. I am fairly new to reloading and I any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

·
Registered
2,419 Posts
Unless you cut a window in the front of a mag, the most you will get from a PRI, CPD, ASC is 2.30-2.31", even then it may not feed well.

·
Registered
2,207 Posts
Just recently picked up a box of 100 Hornady (.277) 130G INTERLOCK SP

Is there a way to load these to fit an AR platform 6.8? The Hornady reloading book shows the C.O.L. for this load to be 2.355

The book also notes that these will not fit into AR style magazines.

I have NOT loaded any of these and was hoping to get some advice before I even attempt it. I have read that compressing the load can cause instability and that is something I do not want. I am fairly new to reloading and I any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Those loads can be run with a windowed magazine.
Just make sure you check the distance to the lands in your barrel.

Hornady and Western Powder have both published loads loading long in the 6.8 SPC, with Westerns loads being at SPCII pressures.

·
Registered
1,756 Posts
Curious about your objectives. Assume you are new to 6.8. What are your purposes (goals) for 130 grain? Hunting, range, plinking, ...?

Normal bullets for the 6.8 run from 85 grain to 120 grain. Beyond 120 grain starts falling into special purpose and longer cartridge lengths than magazine length AND reloader experience (no published data).