6.8 SPC Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new here and new to the 6.8. I just acquired an AR chambered in 6.8. I've been reloading for many years but have no experience with 6.8 bullets. I am researching bullets and would like ask those who are experienced what bullet would you recommend for feral hogs. I generally neck shoot pigs but do take the occasional shoulder shot when they have their head buried in a baited hole.

·
Registered
971 Posts
You should get recommendations on everything from 90 gold dots to 120 gr cavity back solid copper, but the most commonly used bullet for general hog control has been 120 gr Hornady sst’s. Economical and effective.

·
Registered
32 Posts
I'm new here and new to the 6.8. I just acquired an AR chambered in 6.8. I've been reloading for many years but have no experience with 6.8 bullets. I am researching bullets and would like ask those who are experienced what bullet would you recommend for feral hogs. I generally neck shoot pigs but do take the occasional shoulder shot when they have their head buried in a baited hole.
I have experience with the 6.8 and the .277 Wolverine. As chopper said, the 120 SST is devastating. I have used the 110 grain Vmax on deer and Hogs. Though not my favorite bullet, it did the job. I also load 90 grain gold dots (very lethal), and 95 grain ttsx (yet to be tested but super accurate).

·
Registered
2,294 Posts

Reactions: WVHunter1s1k

·
Vendor
2,225 Posts
There are no better bullets than the Cavity Back Bullets for the 6.8 SPC.
Either the 105 grain MKZ or the 120 grain MKZ.
They are not the cheapest but they are the best. As well they are always in stock. Which these days is huge.

·
Registered
1,614 Posts