6.8 SPC Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't think I have been in here for years, as real life has kept me busy. And I already had my pet loads, my guns were built, and I wasn't going to be worried too much about changing things up, as I had other projects. Now that I have some time, I figured I would see if there had been any groundbreaking changes with the cartridge, the chamberings, or anything else.

Right now I have my guns set up with 6.8 SPC II barrels and chambers. I have finally gotten all of my old large rifle primer cases out of my loading mix, and fully transitioned to cases using small rifle primers. My standard load is 27 grains of IMR 3130 under a 110 grain bullet. Either a Nosler Accubond, or a Sierra Pro Hunter. It is accurate enough for my hunting, and tends to leave exit wounds in pigs as wide as my thumb is long. I have been using these loads since around 2011. So, my question is this: Is there anything that has happened since I was last on here that would mean that I need to change things up? Is there a new paradigm out there that I am not aware of? Have people moved to lighter or heavier bullets? Is there some new wonder bullet out there that will magically work better on deer and pigs? Or is it reasonable for me to just continue on my merry way using what I have been using for the past decade?

-Mb

·
Registered
521 Posts
Depending on the weight of the bullets you want to run, AA2200, H/IMR 4198, H335 have all been good performers for me. 4198 for light bullets (85-100gr), 335 for heavy, and 2200 across the spectrum. Some guys have had good luck with CFE BLK with light bullets, but I was never able to get my guns to like it. Leverevolution gives good results in the heavy-for-cartridge weights (120-140).