6.8 SPC Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. Building me a 6.8 16”

It will be primarily used for hunting but I want it to be as accurate as possible. I’m new to this caliber and need a little seasoned expert advice before I jump off.

I don’t hand load so I’ll more than likely be shooting Hornady Black 110 and Hornady SST (only because I bought a ton of it before the build due to the current ammo pandemic)

I’m down to a couple choices but I’d like a little guidance on them. I’m looking at the Wilson Combat 16” Recon and the White Oak Armament 16”

which barrel will give me the best accuracy with factory ammo.
Also any other brands you guys feel are better please feel free to list them

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
ARP...
Don’t know a whole lot about them. Do you have experience with that barrel?

·
Registered
1,072 Posts
ARP . We have 3 and all are sub moa . Interestingly SSTs are the most accurate factory bullets in all 3 . The SST is a good deer bullet with a weird quirk , if you don't hit a big bone it comes apart and the core fragments on the far side leaving an empty Jacket ( and dead deer ) but if you hit forward shoulder it might hold together and leave a sizable exit and good alibet short blood trail . One thing I have learned is the two bullets you mentioned look exactly alike and can easily get mixed up and have to weight them to tell them apart . A hint would be to color the head of the black black so they can be told apart at a glance . The Hornady black / v max is best kept a varmint / defence load .

Sent from my moto g(7) play using Tapatalk

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5