6.8 SPC Forums banner

1 - 20 of 236 Posts

·
Registered
4,208 Posts
I’ve been hunting hogs with a red spot light mounted on the forward part of the handguard with Trijicon 1-4 Accupoint. I also have a green laser for when the hogs start scattering after the first shot which has been effective inside of 75 yards. I wanted to step up to a night vision scope for my 6.8mm without a large investment. The 1[SUP]st[/SUP] generation ATN-X had many negative reviews which I am familiar with. The 2[SUP]nd[/SUP] gen ATN-X fixed many issues with the scope but there still have been mixed reviews. A friend just received the new 3[SUP]rd[/SUP] gen 5-20x ATN-X 4k and has been too busy to use it. I was very fortunate that he let me do an eval on it. I will be getting the 3-14x for the wider FOV for engaging hogs at 50 to 75 yards but thought this would be a great opportunity to experience ATN’s new product. I have no other night scope experience but have military aviation time with night vision and thermal devises.

First impressions when opening the box of the 5-20x ATN-X 4k was positive – “this is very nice.” The unit appears rugged, not frail. The unit also was upgraded with an IR Supernova Illuminator but it was DOA so I was unable to evaluate its benefit over the standard illuminator. I’ve seen a couple of reviews where the illuminator has stopped functioning for others and the units have been replaced by ATN. Except for not being able to use rechargeable batteries, the standard illuminator is of good quality, lighter weight, and I like the simplicity of it and its rotary switch. The full-focused beam covered the entire 5x FOV.

Attachments

·
Registered
4,208 Posts
Its a Different Scope Experience