6.8 SPC Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,

I'm an extreme newbie. This is the first forum I have ever entered. I appreciate all of the info. this forum has provided. I am building my 1st AR, and frankly my first firearm. The knowledge this forum has offered is greatly appreciated. My lower is built, more later, I'll cut to the chase:

I'm ok on most of the build basics. What I don't know/undestand I will ask and research. I was set to order a RRA A4 Upper, mid-length gas tube, Free Float 1/2 quad rail, and flat top gas block. I called RRA today and they are 12-14 weeks on delivery. Stag Arms can deliver in two weeks, but only offer the CAR gas tube. Is the RRA upper worth the wait? I was hoping to have the build done in time for the gun deer season, but the delivery time won't make it from RRA. If I go with Stag, I'll have to go aftermarket to free float, and change the gas tube if that is advised.

If it helps, myself and kids will be using the gun for deer, varmints, and plinking. I will be using factory ammo initially, but will dive into reloading in the near future. I have read comments regarding excess gas pressure in the CAR gas tube. Any input would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Randy

·
Registered
2,318 Posts
onmyown said:
Hello Everyone,

I'm an extreme newbie. This is the first forum I have ever entered. I appreciate all of the info. this forum has provided. I am building my 1st AR, and frankly my first firearm. The knowledge this forum has offered is greatly appreciated. My lower is built, more later, I'll cut to the chase: