6.8 SPC Forums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

· Registered
481 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm new to the 224 Valkyrie and I've been reading as much as I can here and other places. I'll use this thread to document my journey with this caliber more for my own reference later and maybe it'll help someone else along the way.

I've been using 6.8SPC for more than a few years now and really enjoy the CBB 105gr MKZ on coyotes and just got my first deer with it a few weeks ago. I've always been interested in the 224V but never had a reason to jump in.

I was gifted a POF Renegade+ in 224 Valkyrie, 20" barrel, 1:7. It was my father-in-law's who passed away this time last year and my mother-in-law thought it would be a nice birthday gift to me. It was previously unfired.

It sat in my safe since my birthday in April while I decided what I wanted to do with it. I've gotten into night coyote hunting with thermal and I was looking for a flat shooting round for 100-300y with minimal drop in between. I was about to buy a 6 creedmoor or 22 creedmoor bolt gun or a 6ARC upper when bam, I remembered the 224V in my safe.

This past weekend I put my iRay Alpha thermal on it, went to the local feed store and they had 200 rounds of Hornady Black 224V 75gr BTHP. I bought 100 rounds, got it zeroed at 100y, accuracy was good around an inch as best I could tell from using a thermal sight, and velocity was 2950fps. I took it out Sunday night. I managed to get one coyote with it and it was DRT chest shot at 100y. Success and somewhat validated what I had in mind.

I've been reloading for 11 years on my Dillon 550B so naturally I'm excited to figure out this new caliber.