6.8 SPC Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this, but I think I have the hang of load development for plinking, practicing, and non-competitive target shooting.

But hunting is different, every shot is going to come from a cold bore/bolt, and follow up shots may be needed, so POI ought not be very different.

What should I be looking for, and is there a process to find it?

Thanks for the help guys!

Oh, I should add that the 100gr GMX is my planned choice, with A2200. If that combo works well for this purpose

·
Super Moderator
11,796 Posts
I'm new to this, but I think I have the hang of load development for plinking, practicing, and non-competitive target shooting.

But hunting is different, every shot is going to come from a cold bore/bolt, and follow up shots may be needed, so POI ought not be very different.

What should I be looking for, and is there a process to find it?

Thanks for the help guys!

Oh, I should add that the 100gr GMX is my planned choice, with A2200. If that combo works well for this purpose
I would just work up the best load I could come up with and go with it. The POI shift from cold to warm is not going to be enough to worry about in a hunting situation in my opinion.

·
Registered
1,484 Posts
I personally keep track of cold bore shots and they are always part of my groups and not culled from a group. Since you plan to use a monometal bullet for hunting the main concern should be what your minimum opening velocity is for that particular bullet and adjust your maximum range based on muzzle velocity.