6.8 SPC Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My chickens have been pestered lately. My mossberg 590 with a inforce light has worked well. Tried the little 22 bolt gun, but running varmints at night...well, I'm not that good.

Been thinking of a semi auto. What are thoughts or experiences with a mossberg 930/940 ?

·
Premium Member
18,693 Posts
My chickens have been pestered lately. My mossberg 590 with a inforce light has worked well. Tried the little 22 bolt gun, but running varmints at night...well, I'm not that good.

Been thinking of a semi auto. What are thoughts or experiences with a mossberg 930/940 ?
I have no experience with the 930 or 40 but reviews are very good. Are you looking at a tactical or want a high end SG or just a SG to take care of critters?

There are several brands of SGs imported from Turkey and they run well. The RIA (Rock Island), Daly, EAA and others. Several years ago I purchased a Daly from CDNN for $249 as a truck gun for lack of a better term. It eats everything. I tried to mess it up by loading low brass, then buckshot, low brass, slug etc and it didn't miss a beat.

·
Registered
2,034 Posts

Been using my M&P15-22 with 2-7 Nikon scope and some random WML from Amazon that has amazing throw and have killed about 10 possums with that combo at night. It's about a 40yd shot from porch to coop. Fixed some issues with the fence around the coop and it has been quieter. Also neighbors free range dog got a few rounds one day when I got tired of warning them and it was eating my wife's favorite rooster in the coop.

·
Registered
4,840 Posts